Legaciness revealed!

It looks like my neverending quest for a Legaciness metric has already come to a satisfyingly swift end! I was just browsing some blogs on agile techniques when I came across a post about fixing bad developer habits on a blog called Agile Tips. Waaaaay down in the footnotes is a link to a handy little tool in the Google Code site called the Testability Explorer.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it. I felt like Francisco Orellana stumbling across El Dorado. Could this really be the fabled Legaciness metric after all? I have to investigate more, but what I’ve read so far seems to be exactly what I’ve been searching for: a tool designed to calculate the difficulty of testing Java code based on its static dependencies! And from what I’ve read so far, it looks like I was on the right track with the algorithm:

  1. Each class attribute has to be considered by how “injectable” it is (their term, and I like it)
  2. “Global” variables are considered bad if they’re accessible, but not injectable
  3. There’s a transient penalty for methods which call methods which are not injectable (the “inheritance” penalty that I talked about)

They don’t directly address a number of concerns I have, such as:

  1. System calls that make testing difficult (e.g. I/O calls)
  2. Calls to “new” within a method
  3. The ability to “inject” something using the Legacy Code Patterns like “Extract and Override Factory Method” (if the class itself is considered injectable in a method, at least that method won’t get a penalty)

I’m guessing that some of these concerns, like the calls to “new”, would be covered by the transitivity of the complexity scores. I also like the touch that they’ve included cyclomatic complexity into the mix, although I don’t have a feel yet for if that would outweigh the injectability problems – my guess is no. I also don’t know if they take into account 3rd-party libraries. All in all, it looks like their metric is pretty straightforward, easy to understand and useful. I like the simplicity of their approach.

All that’s left now is to try it out! I’ll give it a shot tomorrow and see what it thinks about a certain 550-line file-reading Excel-interpreting monster of a method that’s been keeping me up at night…

2 Responses to Legaciness revealed!

  1. Jonathan says:

    “new” calls are covered in the score, because those are points of non-injectability. Check out Misko’s blog for more… I think you’ll find him right on with your way of thinking: http://misko.hevery.com

  2. Timothy High says:

    Great – thanks for the tip! I can see that there are already posts there that answer some of my questions.

Leave a Reply

